Ransom Notes: Cinematic genius, or out-dated rubbish?

Last night, whilst I was watching The Bodyguard (don’t judge me, it was a slow Wednesday night, ITV2 were showing it, and I had just been bored shitless by the Marseilles – Man U match) the scene where the killer is harassing Whitney Houston’s character with his letters came on, and it occurred to me: why don’t we see letters from antagonists, whether that be kidnappers or otherwise, written from newspaper clippings in movies any more? Whilst I can’t think of any direct movie references, excluding The Bodyguard, the image is quintessentially noir for me, and if I think of a kidnapper demanding a ransom, it’s pretty much the first idea that comes into my head.

 

I dunno though, maybe it’s a bit out-dated.

 

Thoughts? Leave ’em in the comments…

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies, Random Thoughts

Comments are closed.