The death of the newspaper

With the obvious increase of online news, coupled with the decline in newspaper sales, many journalists and media types are understandably worried about where the press industry is going, especially given the introduction, and failure to take off, of pay walls, which I will discuss in a later post.

I for one have been asked on several occasions why, given that the country is apparently in a recession, that there are no jobs around for graduates, and that papers are fast going out of business, London Lite being one of the main examples, why the hell I want to be a journalist in this day and age? My answer to them is that it’s my passion, my ambition, it’s what I’ve wanted to be since I was about 8, looking at whatever paper it is that my parents bought back then, not really knowing what was being said in them, but wanting to be just like the man who wrote the stories in the papers. Also I think I really wanted to be Clark Kent too..

Anyway, I digress, we’re steering away from the point here, which is that today I was a little shocked to read an article on the Guardian website which quotes from Ross Dawson, who is, according to the article, a futurist, which I can only imagine is like a modern-day version of Nostradamus who gets paid to analyse markets and tell the future, who claims that newspapers are going to come to an end very, very quickly. America will lose paper journalism within 7 years, Britain and Iceland two years after that, then Canada, Norway and Australia before 2022. However, some good news for budding journalists is that neither France nor Germany will lose newspapers for another 20 years or so.

Now this surprised me because I always knew that newspapers were going to come to an end eventually, but I think I’m one of a select few who actually enjoys reading a newspaper more than I do news online. However, online news is much easier, hence I am always checking online for news, whereas I unfortunately only read about 3 papers a week. Hopefully that will increase with my purchasing of the i, which, though still young in its production lifecycle, I am very much enjoying.

A quick scan of Dawson’s blog gives us a visual representation of when countries will lose their newspapers in a timeline. Now I’m not going to directly post that here, given that I have no idea about the copyright shitstorm that I may well incur if I did that, but what I will do is link to this blog article (here) and advise you to have a look at it, if you’re interested in this kinda thing, along with the Guardian article in question too (here).

If you’re not interested in this sort of thing, tell me! There’s a Comments section at the bottom. What would you like me to write about? Open forum time, ladies and gentlemen…

Leave a comment

Filed under Journalism

Comments are closed.