Kick-Ass gives Spiderman his burn notice

Kick-Ass or Ass-Kick?

I’ve been looking forward to Kick-Ass for some time. Matthew Vaughn is a great director, Layer Cake and Stardust show this, and Jane Goldman has some genuine talent, much more so than her husband, given her impressive writing work on this and the afore-mentioned Stardust. Mark Strong is fast becoming one of my favourite actors, Nic Cage is a much-maligned but often good actor and there looked to be some promising young talent on show here.

I, for one, was not turned off this film by the Daily Mail claiming it was a “perniciously sexualised view of children” that “glorified violence,” mainly because I don’t trust the Daily Mail. I never have and I never will. Not to say that I’ve never read the paper, I have, and do from time to time, but I don’t like the journalism present in it, and as of late, there have been some major issues with some of their articles, notably this and the column about Stephen Gately’s death last year which was possibly one of the most offensive articles I have ever had the misfortune of reading.

Anyway, back to the matter at hand, Kick-Ass should definitely be watched. It’s hilarious throughout, with some British stars in it, people who you’d recognise if you’d seen Lock, Stock or Snatch, people like Dexter Fletcher, and Chloe Moretz is undoubtedly one to watch for the future, even if she does have a foul mouth on her which I imagine was top of the Daily Mail’s list of qualms about this film.

One of my reservations before I saw this film, of which there were few, was that it’s a comic book movie. Whilst I have no problem with this genre of film, given the success of Sin City and 300 to name but two alternatives to the Spiderman/Batman/Superman typical film, but critics are quick to scathe adaptations. Kick-Ass accepts the fact that it is indeed a comic book movie and throws it to the forefront of the action, not interested with being something it isn’t, and the good news is that the film was left open for a blatant sequel.

Burn Notice

So I was introduced to a new tv show by a friend recently. I’m in dire need of something to fill the gap that will be left by 24 and Lost come May 24th, and I’m gonna try various different shows until I find one.

Dexter will be reintroduced, as I’ve fallen out of favour with that, and there’s a list of others, to include re-watching The Sopranos, The Wire, and trying new shows, V and the like. Burn Notice found its way to the top of this second list. As it stands I’ve only seen the first 5 episodes of season 1, but I have thoroughly enjoyed what I’ve seen.

The show revolves around Michael Westen, a spy who’s given his ‘burn notice’, essentially the espionage version of a P45, at the beginning of the show, and he’s dumped in Miami with nothing but the clothes on his back and a few close contacts, left to fend for himself whilst trying to work out who authorised the burn notice. He’s played rather brilliantly by Jeffrey Donovan, who I have disliked since I saw his obnoxious smarmy character in Hitch, with his portrayal in Changeling not much more likable. This show changed my opinion on him entirely, putting him very much in my good books. 

Other characters include Fiona, an old flame of his who happens to be in Miami at the same time as him who helps him get back on his feet, played by Gabrielle Anwar who I don’t recognise, and Sam, an old colleague of his, portrayed brilliantly by Bruce Campbell, who needs no introduction. Having picked this show up for £15 on DVD for the first series, I definitely recommend it, with the dry humour working well with the espionage genre.

And that’s it for another post.

Thanks

Matt

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies, Television

Leave a Reply

